Shrug


They care only for themselves

In this race against time.

Stuck behind pieces of thick yellow tape,

I stand, a naked and bruised pantomime,

Marsh air so thick it lingers on my tongue.

They turn their backs and shrug,

Thinking they have won.

 

He stands so close, there is no distinction.

Now we are taller and twice as strong.

There is a balance created between us,

So that together we can’t go wrong.

A touch that dulls the ache, making me warm,

His body is a double plated shield,

Keeping me safe from harm.

 

She is a reflection of my youth,

The one who knew me well.

I always guess what hides beneath

The things she doesn’t tell.

Together we grow older, and older more apart,

But I’ll always be here for her,

As it has been from the start.

 

Time races by without a second chance.

I struggle to keep up and take a look around.

Life has lost it’s simple meaning, 

With answers too profound.

Today we climb this hill, that tomorrow may be a mountain,

Whose peak holds all I wish for still,

While we bathe in it’s youthful fountain.

What do you think?

